Skilled Visa is a point’s tested visa that is designed to attract skilled migrants to Australia.

Points are awarded to applicants based a number of factors including age, work experience, qualifications, English language ability etc.

These visas can only be applied upon invitation; first you must submit an ‘Expression of Interest’ (EOI).

General eligibility is that you must:

  1. be aged 45 or less when you are invited to apply
  2. have at least 65 points
  3. have a positive skills assessment in a relevant occupation
  4. have at least a ‘competent’ English
  5. meet health and character requirements

Three main visa subclasses fall within this category, as set out below:

Skilled Independent – SC189 Visa

The Subclass 189 points tested visa is a permanent residence visa that allows the visa holder to live and work anywhere in Australia.

This visa is an excellent choice for skilled workers who can score high on points test and have a nominated occupation from the MLTSSL (Medium and Long-term Strategic Skills List).

Skilled Nominated – SC190 Visa

The Subclass 190 is a point’s tested visa that allows skilled workers who are nominated by an Australian state or territory government to live and work in Australia as a permanent resident.

Few benefits of applying for the SC190 Visa are:

  1. increased number of occupations are available – you can select an occupation from either the MLTSSL (Medium and Long-term Strategic Skills List) or the STSOL (Short-term Skilled Occupation List)
  2. applicant receives additional 5 points if nominated by a state

Skilled Work Regional – SC491 Visa

The Skilled Work Regional (Provisional) SC491 Visa allows eligible skilled workers and their families to live, work and study in designated regional areas of Australia for 5 years. In addition, visa holders will be eligible to apply for a Permanent Residence visa after three years. Applicants for this visa must be nominated by:

  1. an Australian state or territory government agency or
  2. Sponsored by an eligible family member residing in a designated regional area and be invited to apply for the visa, following submission of an Expression of Interest (EOI) in SkillSelect

Benefits of Subclass 491 are:

  1. Priority processing of applications
  2. Incentives for migrants to stay in regional areas for longer term
  3. More points available to subclass 491 visa applicants
  4. Direct pathway to permanent residency is available.

Australian Visas Categories: